One brings two…

There’s a phrase in cricket of ‘one brings two’ – in other words, once one wicket falls a second follows almost straight after.

Joe pops into Lord’s to see his brother for a few minutes
Billy had plenty to do patrolling the boundary!

But today at Lord’s one Root brings two!

A truncated and ‘on/off’ day sees Middlesex progress from 132/4 to 261/5 by tea but two hours play lost to rain means there’s little to gain from today.

Stoneman gets his head down for a classy century – accelerating to make up time after the first rain break – and goes for 128 trying to force the pace, second ball against the Welsh spinner. Simpson – another fiddler/twitcher but more subtle than most – grinds his was to 62no at tea – or rather when the rain returned.

A valiant attempt after tea to restart saw the new ball taken before the rain returned and the umpires put us out of our misery and called it a day at 286/5.

All to play for still, but my last trip to Lord’s this season.

Stoneman celebrates!
Northeast and Cooke deep in concentration
Simpson – muscles aplenty!
Was Cooke wondering ‘how did that miss?’



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s